PDA

View Full Version : Learning Japanese

SeekingStudent
1st October 2003, 19:54
Hey everyone. I know this has probably been asked several times, but I am going to ask again (sorry). I would like to learn Japanese, spoken and both written forms, and I need some good books to start from. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks in advance everyone.

-TJ

renfield_kuroda
2nd October 2003, 00:54
First, find a school, then use the texts they recommend.

Regards,

r e n

SeekingStudent
2nd October 2003, 03:05
Well, I am currently a student of Harvey Mudd College, but the beginning Japanese courses conflict with my major schedule. SO I just want to get a start and do some basics until I can take some courses next school year. Thanks for the advice.

-TJ

allan
2nd October 2003, 18:02
I agree with Ren.

But... I am teaching myself too, so, for what it's worth:

a)learn hiragana (you can do this by yourself with, f.e., flash cards and by writing them out over and over again.

b) learn katakana (same advice applies as with hiragana)

c) find old copies of easier to read Japanese comics (manga) (the easy ones have lots of hiragana/katakana and also have small hiragana beside the kanji (Chinese style characters) to help you in reading them. YOU WILL NEED A GOOD DICTIONARY BY THIS STAGE.

Regards,

renfield_kuroda
3rd October 2003, 00:26
Originally posted by SeekingStudent
Well, I am currently a student of Harvey Mudd College, but the beginning Japanese courses conflict with my major schedule. SO I just want to get a start and do some basics until I can take some courses next school year. Thanks for the advice.

-TJ

Well that makes it easy then! Buy the texts that they're using in the class and study on your own. Any decent campus Japanese text will get you learning hiragana, katakana, some kanji, and basic vocab the first year.