PDA

View Full Version : Cross training in Aikido and Kendo

Paul Kerr
7th October 2003, 16:08
Hi Folks,
I posted this over at the kendoworld forums, and Charlie Kondek reminded me that it would be a good idea to ask here as well (thanks Charlie):

Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie to kendo, having just taken it up and have a couple of questions. I have trained in Aikido since 1989 (and will continue to do so) and also trained 5 years in Tenshin Shoden Katori Shinto Ryu (1995-2000) - so I have at least a basic familiarity with sword work, albeit only with bokken and iaito, never shinai.

Is there anyone out there who perhaps also has some background in either Aiki-ken or TSKSR (or indeed any other related art) who would be "wise" to some typical hurdles or challenges that I might expect in kendo?

My first, limited, impression is that the footwork is radically different from what I have been used to, as is the ma-ai (due to the length of the shinai). I also notice that my hip placement is not as it should be (having a tendency to sometimes turn). The re-learning process will certainly be interesting and challenging for me .

If any of the wiser heads here have experiences to share on this matter I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks.

Paul

John J. Montes
7th October 2003, 20:40
Hello Mr. Kerr...I am very interested in this topic as I am seriously considering studying kendo as well. I've been training for some time like you and feel that very soon I'll take the plunge...

However, how has your training affected the more subtler aspects to Aikido like commitment, intensity and your ability to "take the opening"?

Charlie Kondek
7th October 2003, 20:45
Hi, Paul! Hope to see a good discussion. I myself have no knowldege of aikido but would like to hear more about how it does and does not blend with kendo.

DCPan
7th October 2003, 21:15
Originally posted by Paul Kerr