PDA

View Full Version : Okabayashi Ryoichi (Hakuhokai): Another Perspective

Gary Gabelhouse
16th October 2003, 18:32
Hello All,

Don't know whether this belongs in Bad Budo or here. Decided to keep it here as it deals only with Daitoryu. Late last year, there was an article that published an interview with Okabayashi-Sensei. Through due diligence, I find some descrepencies with regard to the article . . .

FROM THE ARTICLE

Q. When did you first become involved in martial arts?

A. I started training in Shito Ryu Karate when I was about 15 years old and trained in that style for about 6 years.

Q. When did you begin training in Daito Ryu Aiki Jujutsu?

A. I was about 21 years old when I started training with Takuma Hisa Sensei. So it was in 1970.

(SNIP) So I began to search for a martial art that would teach me how to defeat the sword. After about a year of looking for a school, I came across Hisa Takuma Sensei’s group (teaching Daito-ryu Aikijujutsu). I found the things they were practicing very interesting. Hisa Sensei had traditional technique, so I asked him if I could study under him. He accepted me and so I began my training.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GARY'S RESPONSE: Okabayashi did not begin training in Daitoryu under Takuma Hisa. He first trained with Kenkichi Ohgami-Sensei (my Daitoryu teacher) and continued his training, attending both day and evening classes for two years. Ohgami-Sensei gave him his Shodan, I believe, in 1972. During this time he trained under only Ohgami-Sensei. As you know, Ohgami-Sensei began studying Daitoryu under Takuma Hisa in, I believe, 1959 or 1960. He was one of Hisa's senior students who helped create the Takumakai. He was very close with Hisa and has written the first approved biography of Takuma Hisa (coming out in English in 2004).