PDA

View Full Version : Aikido in DC

dirkd1976
3rd October 2000, 19:42
Hello,
I am new to this BB, so please take it easy on me!! I am moving to the DC area in a couple of months and am planning on taking aikido at the Aikido Shobukan Dojo near the Takoma metro station. What I am wondering is, are there any people on this BB that train there? I would like to know a little about the dojo from someone who has actually trained in that dojo. How are the instructors? I noticed that the list of instructors is quite large, do they have a rotating schedual? Are the classes large or relativly small? I noticed they do weapons training on their website, what kinds? Sword? Any others? I already contacted them regarding prices and beginners class (every sunday they have an introductory class I believe), and purchasing the hakama. This is my first foray into the martial arts world. It is something I have been interested in for a long time, but was never able to train here in Maine for one reason or another. Anyway, some insider information would be much appreciated, I am both eager and nervous to start. Thanks in advance for any insight!!

RDeppe
4th October 2000, 17:29
Hi,
I am one of the people on that long teacher list. I currently teach sword on Tuesday night second class. Mike Lasky is teaching jo on Wednesday night second class. In five months we will probably switch weapons like we did a month ago (I'll do jo and he'll do sword). Yes we have a lot of teachers, but if you come primarily evenings or primarily mornings things are some what consistant (i.e. in the evenings there are ten classes taught by the same 5 people each week). Pete Trimmer & Mike Lasky are the Sempei (top/most experienced students) of the dojo (and both teach quite a bit).