PDA

View Full Version : Black Belts staying power

JimGould
3rd November 2003, 09:56
We all know that most students once they reach black belt decide they know it all and quit.

Here's the question............. How many students in YOUR Dojo have stuck around after Shodan for a long time? How many are still there 5 years later? Whats the average time they last?

(I don't mean the teacher and I don't mean people who say they are studying because they go to Japan once a year)

Rokushakubo
3rd November 2003, 16:22
In our dojo (I am a student, not a teacher, but I've been around almost as long as the dojo itself - around a decade), we have two students at shodan and above. One was given his shodan last December, the other one is 3rd dan now.

It is usually impressed upon the students in our club that grades are not important. Those who are in it just for grades don't last very long and won't reach shodan anyway!

Jay Bell
3rd November 2003, 17:05
We all know that most students once they reach black belt decide they know it all and quit.

I don't think that's a fair judgement. Does it happen? Of course it does...but saying most fall into that catagory I don't think is right to say.

Many things happen that can lead to people leaving training. They find something that they'd rather be doing, life, family...you name it.

When I was active in the Bujinkan, most people in our dojo stuck around after Shodan. As far as I'm aware, most are still training.

JimGould
3rd November 2003, 18:11
Okay, I should re-word that bit :)

Most students quit after black belt for some or another reason ;) I would say about 80%

gmanry
3rd November 2003, 18:44
It is true that a lot of people, once reaching shodan will disapear. However, it is also true that many people will disappear before reaching 9th kyu, around 6th kyu, and 3rd kyu as well. I don't know why these points tend to be special for people to leave. Something about thirds (a joke)?