PDA

View Full Version : Sign of the times

Diane Mirro
18th November 2003, 22:24
I just went to the local martial arts supply store to pick up a couple of cheap bokuto for prospective new students--I've been doing this several times a year for the last four years, since we get a school discount and I can then pass on the savings to the students. We use the standard reddish-brown bokuto with plastic tsuba--nothing fancy, but fine for the first few months of Iaido as well as for Kendo kata. It's actually rather pleasant to chat with the proprietor as I pick through the box and try to find the nicest 2-3 for purchase.

Well, I was unpleasantly surprised this time. Two were nice, and the rest were obviously from a different supplier. They were made very poorly and the tsuka tapered to a nasty ridge at the bottom--almost triangular in cross section. After a few cuts I could tell that it would feel very unpleasant to work with such a sword for any length of time. I showed them to the owner, who was very surprised. She said that they had gotten this shipment from AWMA as usual. So, apparently AWMA has changed THEIR source. I told the owner that I would not be buying any bokuto with such a poor design, and she promised that they will try to find a better source. The two bokuto I bought, by the way, were Century brand--not a supplier I generally patronize. The owner said that they will no longer be carrying Century brand either because Century will soon be selling through Walmart. Go figure--martial arts for the masses...

Kolschey
19th November 2003, 12:32
I have yet to find an AWMA weapon that was worth a darn. I remember a pair of kama where the blades were held in place with aluminum pins. Their sai are hollowcast with all of the weight and balance of a tire iron, and their cutlery is the sort that one finds at a flea market.
Somehow, I'm not surprised that their bokken/bokuto are of inferior craftsmanship. :rolleyes: