PDA

View Full Version : Gruzanski and Jodo

John Lindsey
4th December 2003, 15:35
I remember a story once about the late Charles Gruzanski (author of the book Spike and Chain)discussing with Shimizu the idea of him opening the USA branch of Shindo-Muso ryu. It never happened, but I wonder how much training did Gruzanski have in Jodo? Did he train here or in Japan? I know his son Robert is a member here, so maybe he can shed some light on this...

Diane Skoss
8th December 2003, 14:59
Hi John,

Your source was most definitely ill-informed. I checked with Relnick Sensei (who was amongst the earliest non-Japanese Shinto Muso-ryu practitioners) and he sent me the following information:

I knew every foreigner who trained under Shimizu Sensei in the old days (I started training in 1962) and Gruzanski was not one of them. There is always the possibility that Gruzanski may have visited Japan in the old days, and may even have met Shimizu Sensei somewhere. Anyone who visited the dojo or was present at a public demonstration could have. He may have even done a little jo with someone other than Shimizu Sensei, however, he would have left Japan as no more than a beginner, at best. Which means that Shimizu Sensei would never have allowed him to open a USA branch of SMR. In those days, jo was not only unknown to foreigners studying in Japan, it was unknown to the average Japanese.

In addition, under the guidance and supervision of Shimizu Sensei, his small group of foreigners studying under him wrote the Constitution and By-Laws of the JODO FEDERATION OF THE USA (JFUSA) in January 1966 after having worked on it for more than two years. The members of that group were Donn F. Draeger (deceased), Phil Relnick (WA), Quintin Chambers (HI) and Don Buck (NH).

Later that year, the Constitution and By-Laws of the INTERNATIONAL JODO FEDERATION (IJF) were written and established, based on JFUSA.