PDA

View Full Version : I would not have told that (or why doesn't Ed Boyd like Suparimpei)

Gene Williams
4th January 2004, 20:12
Hi Ed :D
In a thread a while back, I remember you said you didn't see much to Suparimpei:o Well, I taught it this morning to my senior student. I haven't taught that kata before, although I have been doing it for about 10 years. I've just never had anyone senior enough to learn it yet. It gave me a chance to reflect on the kata a bit. You are right that it is mostly basics (all kata are, aren't they;) ), but it is definitely a kata for someone who has been training for many years. The techniques and stepping in the kata, as well as the breathing, assume a level of focus and power that takes a while to develop. Any way, just wanted to start some more discussion of this really interesting kata.

CEB
4th January 2004, 23:20
Yes and when you remove the repeated postures the stepping and techniques come alive even more. The repetitions hide the waza if that makes any sense. Probably doesn't, I'm not good with words.

Breathing can get real involved, depends on the teacher. Alot of people do the form without many of the distinct breathing patterns we do. ( pechurin lite :) )

Heck don't wait for people to be senior enough to learn it. If you do that they'll be too old to do the damn 360 cresent kick followed by the double mae tobi geri. :) Brown belts should learn the pattern fine enough. Just don't teach them the secret stuff ;)

But my favorite katas are still Shisochin, Kururunfa,Tensho and Sanchin. ( also Naihanchi Shodan but don't tell anybody that isn't really one of ours).