PDA

View Full Version : Injuries and decrepitude

tony leith
13th October 2000, 14:49
I've been training for only about nine years, but am already replete with the usual range of creaking joints etc. My knees especially appear to ageing faster than the rest of me by a factor of about two, and one of the fingers on my left hand has lately taken to clicking through its range of motion, which is also a bit alarming..

Some suggestions for harm reduction:
1)Martial arts training is highly specific in terms of the kind of muscular and other bodily conditioning that result from it. In my case, Kempo punching and kicking techniques emphasise pushing the body forward to commit its weight to the strike. Over years of training, this for me resulted in disproportionate development of the musculature on the outside of the thigh, which gradually undermined the stability of my knee joints and resulted in recurring injury. Since maintaining a physiotherapy and exerise regime to compensate i.e. develop the muscle groups on the inside of the knee, I have thus far (touch wood) avoided a further recurrence. We all should probably think more carefully in sports scientific terms about what we're doing to ourselves, and what we can do to mitigate any negative consequences of our training..
2)Further to this, training should be structured in such a way as to minimise the likelihood of injury. There have to be proper warm ups ( and warm downs) i.e. enough actvity to elevate respiratory patterns and allow stretching to be done safely. Activity should then be maintained throughout the session at a sufficient level to keep warm (incredibly basic stuff, I know, but it doesn't always happen).