PDA

View Full Version : The Last Samurai got me thinking..........

SMJodo
16th January 2004, 20:27
that I would be minus an arm or a leg in about a second if I ever had to face a sword expert with my Jo. It seems as though the "scripted" kata only prepare you for an encounter such as this to a certain degree. I almost wish Jodo had some sort of Kendo-like qualities to make it more practical in a combat setting. Does anyone else feel like this?

everest
16th January 2004, 20:56
i'm relatively new to smr jo ...so i'm speaking of my past training experience as it applies to jo or any other martial art. it sounds painfully simple but trust your training.the koryu arts were derived from life or death engagements over hundreds of years in some cases.the very techniques and "static" kata are the key for understanding distancing, timing and tactics. over time (years) you'll see your able to respond automatically to an opponents moves. example in the middle of a kata ,the swordsmen switches to another.i think you'll be surprised at the result.
as far as surviving against a expert swordsmen,well the best you can hope for is ai-uchi, mutual death,so make sure yor life insurance is paid up!
i'm sure practitioners with far more experience will voice their ideas. keep training!
scott altland
itten dojo

Nsherrard
17th January 2004, 02:25
"as far as surviving against a expert swordsmen,well the best you can hope for is ai-uchi, mutual death,so make sure yor life insurance is paid up!"

Everest,