PDA

View Full Version : Iaito care

eonblue
30th January 2004, 14:21
What kind of care is required with an iaito? Cleaning, etc... Just curious, I only started practicing iaido 4 monthes ago, for future reference. Seeing as the blade is a zinc/aluminum alloy does it need the same care as would a shinken?

Diane Mirro
30th January 2004, 14:46
Generally, wiping it down with a soft cloth--old cotton T-shirt or such--and then coating it with a VERY THIN layer of oil--pure mineral or the traditional choji oil from Japan are fine, as are a selection of others listed in previous threads on the subject. Do this after every time you practice, and you are less likely to "feel the burn" of the blade chafing your left hand on noto or batto. It will also provide a light coating for the inside of the saya, making these movements smoother. And it is a good habit to develop for that long-off day when you start working with a shinken...

Two big DO NOTS:

DO NOT use uchiko on nonsteel blades. Uchiko is the giant red or white Tootsie-pop looking thingy (sorry folks, it's Friday AM and I'm giddy) that comes in most sword cleaning kits. It is a cloth-covered bag of the powdered remnants of sword polishing stones. This powder is a mild abrasive and will remove the finish from your alloy iaito.

DO NOT use too much oil. It will gunk up the inside of your saya, resulting in wood rot, mold, decay, infections, and all sorts of nasty critters creeping out of the koiguchi when you are not looking. (Okay, I exaggerate a tad.) In reality, the blade of the iaito does not need to be oiled at all--we do it for ease of batto and noto.