PDA

View Full Version : Diff in Jap. vs Oki. Teaching?

BULLDOG
6th February 2004, 12:53
Hello,

Is there a general different approach in how one is taught in Japanese style vs. an Okinawa style?

I have recently entered a Shuri-ryu Dojo and my background is in the Japanese’s arts. I respect the head instructor and her Black belts –but- there is a difference.

I know that each dojo is different and each instructor is different. I am looking for a possible comparison on similarity or difference.

Thank you for your input.

Ed Barton

Blackwood
6th February 2004, 14:01
I think the 'difference' is probably due more to the instructor then to the style. The vast majority of styles follow a pretty similar process, based on the traditions.

My experience in a Japanese dojo and two different Okinawan styles is that they run pretty similar. One of the Okinawan schools was the strictest in formalities, to the point of having seperate dressing rooms for the black belts. My current Okinawan dojo is much less strict than any of the others, but there are specific rules and you will incur the rath of the seniors if you break them.

To some the formalities are almost as important as the skills they learn. To others the formalities are just something one must endure to get to the 'good stuff.'

I don't feel one can really understand the origins of a style without understanding the protocols that go with it and the past history.

Rob Alvelais
6th February 2004, 15:08