PDA

View Full Version : Nifanchi Testing

Rob Alvelais
26th February 2004, 16:25
In another board someone posted this link:
http://www.wonder-okinawa.jp/023/eng/011/003/index.html

It looks like one fellow is "testing" the other's nifanchi. I've never heard of such a thing in the Shorin systems. Any of you advanced shorin practitioners who do nifanchi have any experience with this?

Rob

Gene Williams
26th February 2004, 17:00
Rob, It was not at all uncommon in my dojo training under Higioshi or Joe Ruiz, or at camps with Kuniba for our Sanchin or Seisan to "tested." Actually, any kata might be tested by kicking or pushing or punching. I do it to my students all the time. I don't know that Naihanchi gets much attention. Maybe it should.

Timothy.G.B.
26th February 2004, 17:07
Hi Rob:

I certainly wouldn't consider myself an advanced practitioner but I have had some experience with "testing" naihanchi kata. What are you curious about?

Tim Black

Rob Alvelais
26th February 2004, 17:09
Originally posted by Gene Williams
Rob, It was not at all uncommon in my dojo training under Higioshi or Joe Ruiz, or at camps with Kuniba for our Sanchin or Seisan to "tested."
Sure, I've had the same experience in my training. But, I've never seen "shime" like one sees in Sanchin, say, for an Itosu Kei kata.

Actually, any kata might be tested by kicking or pushing or punching. I do it to my students all the time. I don't know that Naihanchi gets much attention. Maybe it should.

Did you look at the video? It looked like the guy was testing the kata, the same way as one does Sanchin. Have you seen that sort of testing in the Itosu Kei kata, O Shihan no fukuro-nezumi ?

Rob

Timothy.G.B.
26th February 2004, 17:15
Rob:

The guy doing the kata is Higa Minoru Sensei, Kyudokan Shorin-ryu, nephew of Higa Yuchoku Dai Sensei. That is Higa's karate and his way of "testing" naihanchi.

Tim Black

Rob Alvelais
26th February 2004, 17:42
Originally posted by Timothy.G.B.
Rob: