PDA

View Full Version : Judo As A Fighting Art?

G. Jetter
19th October 2000, 14:53
Gentlemen (and ladies), I come to this forum with the sincere hope of satisfying my curiosity concerning the art of Judo. For the record I am a student of Takagi Yoshin Ryu and Shinden Fudo Ryu jujutsu as well as Hontai Yoshin Ryu jujutsu. Over the course of the years I have been told that Kano sensei removed the dangerous elements from the jujutsu that he studied and devised the sport of Judo. I must admit that Judo has been often promoted and marketed (within the scope of the media that I have been subjected to) as a sport; consequently an Olympic event. I also had the pleasure of observing a Judo tournament while myself training in Japan this past Spring.

Recently, in an effort to better understand and appreciate the jujutsu that I study I have began researching various other arts that incorporate elements of ju. As such I obtained a copy of the book "Kodokan Judo" by Kano sensei. Needless to say, I was very surprised by what I found.

It seems as though Kano sensei simply took what he felt was inconsistent with, what he viewed, as the principle of ju and removed it from his training curriculum. Essentially taking away that which he felt was not effective or practical (correct me if I'm wrong). I was surprised to find not only atemi waza and kappo waza in his manuscript but techniques of muto dori (unarmed versus sword) as well.

This gave me pause. I have never actually been aware of Judo having, at any time, been promoted as a fighting art. Again, due to my own ignorance and misunderstanding perhaps.

After reading several other threads in this particular forum I get the impression that the atemi, kappo and muto dori techniques are not taught a great deal, if at all, and the focus is primarily on Judo as a 'martial' sport. Why is this?