PDA

View Full Version : Solo Training

Bill1979
19th October 2000, 21:56
Hi:

I'm a fairly new Aikido student, and have trained for about 8 months. Due to a recent schedule change and becoming a full-time college student, I'm only able to train formally 1 night a week. I am curious about excercises for solo training. What have members of this forum found effective for training at home?

Thank you,

Bill Callahan

Nick
20th October 2000, 00:36
I do aiki taisos and jo kata. Those are the only things I can do by myself that seem to help my Aikido.

Nick Porter

Yojimbo558
20th October 2000, 17:53
Hi Bill,

I don't do Aikido, but I do have some ideas for you. The style I train in is Bujinkan. When I'm not training with my group, I do solo training.

As was already pointed out, you can always do weapons training ( katas )on your own.

In addition to that however you can still practise your kote gaeshi and other stuff on your own as well. It's like an air guitar so to speak. Imagine your uke striking at you, as you would in class, get off line and simulate taking the attackers wrist taking them off balance and executing the technique.

Where this helps you out in your training, is that since you don't have an actual uke...you get to make sure that your aren't over extending yourself, and possibly weakening the movement by being off balance. This winds up being great feedback for when you have an actual uke.

Hope that helps,

Eric Bookin

Mike Collins
21st October 2000, 07:42
Practice shomen cuts with your bokken. Do them straight ahead, then while turning. Pay close attention to keeping the cuts straight up and down your centerline while turning your hips.