PDA

View Full Version : My Karate teacher has gone to far!

S.Jubei
2nd March 2004, 21:31
Hello all

Ok i have been studying Shotokan Karate for about 5 months now and have to say that my Karate teacher is not the best of the bunch!
First of all he just doesnt space the lessons out well and we dont learn Kata like at all. We seem to just repeat things that are not really important! I have been there 5 months and have not been taught the second Kata once yet!
Secondly hes a bully and seems to enjoy putting down other students.
He also complains about peoples control but likes to hit his students when demonstrating techniques.
I'm just getting really fed up with his ways now and am temptedto stop going but the problem is i really like Karate and dont want to stop doing it all together. The only other Martial art around me is TaeKwonDo which i attended for 1 year. I liked it but prefur Japense arts by miles.
When i did Taekwondo the teacher was good and let his students grade every 3 months.
My Karate teacher is SUCH a mean git when it comes to grading. For example im not being big headed but i had been for 4 months and he said i was not good enough to grade for my first belt! I disagreed so he let me grade saying i will fail and i got a 1st class grade and had so many students come up to me and comment on how well i did.
There are lots of students who deserve to move on but he doesnt let them because he likes to be Mr. in Control!
I know very well that when the next grading comes he wont let me grade when i KNOW i am good enough and would probably get another 1st but he saw the attention i got and wont let me grade this time for sure.

I just really dont know what to do as i love Karate and going to the grading and seeing really good sensei was a really great feeling.

Ok now im asking your opionons...
What do think i should do?

Please help :(

Thanks

Gene Williams
2nd March 2004, 21:32
I think you should find a new school...oh, and get a life...

S.Jubei