PDA

View Full Version : How to empty your cup…

Shison
28th April 2004, 15:51
I’m a recent student of another Martial art. I seem to be having some difficulties with it. I come from a Jujutsu background, with a bit of aiki at the higher levels. In my current studies, I am shown a technique. I get the technique explained to me. I then get to feel the technique, then I am to perform the technique (No probs here, I’m used to that particular structure from my prior training).

My problem is this. When I’m performing the technique, and it doesn’t work, I automatically revert back to Jujutsu, almost like a prescribed response. Sometimes without thought. While I find this to be a small comfort (Say, in case I’m jumped next Friday), I can for the most part defend myself using what I already know. The downer is that I probably will not be "jumped" next Friday or ever, and (I feel) it’s hurting my current studies.

How do those of you who break from a particular style after many years and pick up a new one, that is similar in some aspects but in actuality is totally different than what you have previously learned, deal with this issue?

For example, you study MJER for 20 years, then switch to MSR. Many of the kata/waza are similar, but they have distinctions. While performing your kata, you find yourself reverting back to MJER, sometimes without a thought. (Probably a poor example, but I hope it conveys my thoughts on this)

Thanks in advance.

Walker
28th April 2004, 17:55
There is a great quote from Toby Threadgill - Everyone wants to start in the middle.

You have switched to a new martial art, style, school or whatever. Just because you have competence in your old area, this in no way means that you have it in your new endeavor. You have to start at the beginning.