PDA

View Full Version : Shuri-ryu, solliciting comments

Denis Torres
12th May 2004, 18:12
I visited a dojo here in the ATL area that teaches Shuri-ryu (alongside Shintoyoshin-ryu Jiu-jitsu). The head sensei seems nice enough and has some good martial family ties. I'm considering the dojo mostly for the Jiu-jitsu but I don't mind doing the Karate alongside. Although much of my background is in Chinese arts, I did study Okinawa-Te for a couple of years back in my HS days.

I've researched the art/style and understand the basics. I detect quite a bit of Hsing-I influence. Could I impose upon the forum members to give me some of their insight into the Shuri system as it compares to some of the core systems in Okinawan Karate such as Goju, Shorin, Uechi and Isshin. Specifically what I'm looking for is an overview of the core concepts...kihon, kata, bunkai, stances, philosophy, martial application, etc. Feel free to offer any negative comments as well.

Thanks in advance.

http://www.tmacenter.com/

Gene Williams
12th May 2004, 19:12
Shuri ryu was the creation of Robert Trias, an American karate pioneer. His organization was USKA and he had a stable with the likes of Bill Wallace, Larry Reinhardt, Fred Wren, Tony Tulleners, Jim McClain, Bob Bowles, and a host of 60's and 70's point tournament virtuosos. Several were also good kata competitors. His ryu was rather eclectic and tended to be an ego shop for glory seekers. However, one could argue (if one wanted to) that he did a lot to promote American karate.

CEB
12th May 2004, 19:18
It isn't an Okinawian method if that is really important to you. Otherwise if you have observed the class and believe you would enjoy the practice they offer I would go for it.

IMO it compares closer to Japanese karate than Okinawian karate. Then again the lines blur a bit between some Japanese and Okinawian schools anymore as some try to get back to the Okinawian roots and the others branch out a bit in more competitive aspects.