PDA

View Full Version : Motobu-ryu

Stéphan Thériault
26th October 2000, 02:53
Just wondering if anyone has any info on the art of Motobu-ryu?

waza22
26th October 2000, 02:58
Sir,

I studied the art for a short time under a long lineage that leads to Shian Toma and to Seikichi Uehara.

I have some cursory knowledge of the style. What is it you wish to know?

Regards,
William D. Gray

kusanku
26th October 2000, 04:49
Check websites for Seidokan Shorin ryu, they are under Shian Toma, student of Seikichi Uehara.

Those are the people to ask about it, all right.

Stéphan Thériault
27th October 2000, 00:03
Mr. Gray,

I learned of Motobu-ryu from a few articles on Okinawan arts in Fighting Arts International. In it mr.Bishop relates a little of the ryu's history, that it supossedly came to Okinawa from Japan centuries before the Satsuma invasion. I was also intrigued that in the few pictures of Seikichi Uehara included with the article, in one he is using a spear, and in the other applying a very "jujutsu" looking technique. I was curious, because I don't know all that much about Okinawa, and was not aware that some of the older arts that would have been used by the island's bushi had survived.

mr.Kusanku,

would you hapen to have a web site address for the Seidokan?

Nick
27th October 2000, 00:56
question- do you speak of motobu-ha shito ryu?

If not, fraid I can't offer much to the conversation...

Nick Porter

kusanku
27th October 2000, 05:26
Stephan- I'll get you one.

Nick- No he means Motobu Ryu Udundi, an Okinawan martial art somewhat related perhaps to the jigen eryu, so it is said.

kusanku
27th October 2000, 05:42
Okay. Stephan, try this url-
http:www.su.ukc.ac.uk/societies/karate/toide.html

The toide techniques listed are the mokuroku techniques(beginner's scroll) waza of Motobu Ryu Toide, which is the Okinawan spelling of Torite, or seizing hand.

This art is sometimes refrred to as the 'Okinawan " Aikijutsu art.