PDA

View Full Version : Re: Real Guns in Hand to Hand Training?

Duke343
7th November 2000, 20:47
I wish that someone would send this to the judo-l list, as I have quit. Both Massad Ayoob's AND Gunsite's responses are here.

Dear Duke:
DEFINITELY do not attempt this with a functional firearm!!!

Paintball or Simunitions guns will work better, but insist that full
protective gear be worn. Contact your nearest police academy. They will
have this stuff and would probably be interested enough to bring the
equipment to participate in your training.

Good luck. Be safe. NEVER do this with a functional firearm, or a live
cartridge WILL somehow get into the gun and tragedy will result.

Cordially,
Massad Ayoob
----- Original Message -----
To: <ayoob@attglobal.net>
Sent: Wednesday, November 01, 2000 12:22 PM
Subject: Real Guns in Hand to Hand Training?

> Dear Mr Ayoob,
>
> I am a martial arts instructor and a question involving firearms has
> surfaced. You are the most widely recognized firearms authority in the
> world, no one is more qualified than you to answer it.
>
> In Kodokan Judo there are 3 handgun take-aways that are taught, I
> learned them from a 6th dan (degree) from Japan. My teacher says that they
> are very dangerous and not to try them for real.
>
> In a debate on the judo-l newsgroup, The conversation turned from
"are
> they effective" to "lets try them with a real handgun (unloaded)". I have
> had a moderate amount of firearms training (I would LOVE to make it out to
> you someday!) and adamantly opposed this idea. I contended that they can
be
> tested with a paintball gun or something similar. We were then lead to
> believe that training of this type is commonplace. I checked with local
law
> enforcement who said it was probably illegal. Still people seem to think
> this type of training is proper.
>
> Do you train or have you heard of this type of training with a real
> handgun?
> What is your opinion of this practice?
>
> Yours truly,
>
> Duke Lewis