PDA

View Full Version : Dojo floor space

Tetsutaka
5th June 2000, 14:33
How much space do you think a student, or rather a pair of students need to practice technique?

How do you think the space requirements for one art differs from another, i.e. karate vs. judo vs. aikido vs. kali? [OK forget kali - not a Japanese art... http://216.10.1.92/ubb/wink.gif]

Most Japanese dojos I've seen on video or have heard accounts of seem pretty small. How do you compensate for a small floorspace?

Thanks in advance,

------------------
Houston Haynes (http://home.nc.rr.com/houstonandjulie)
"You have the right to remain silent.
Anything you say will be misquoted, then used against you."

[This message has been edited by Tetsutaka (edited 06-05-2000).]

BrianV
6th June 2000, 06:23
Hi all, I am a Jujutsu practitioner and Instructor from Canada.
I have always used this basic formula for work area.
For one student the necessary floor space is using the persons height as a radius in a circle. (Or use twice their height as a diameter).
If there are two people, such as in Kumite or Shiai, then the persons are one arms length away (tallest person if uneven) and the circles overlap.
Hope this is useful to you,

------------------
Brian V

MarkF
6th June 2000, 09:20
Knock down a wall?

------------------
Mark F. Feigenbaum

hyaku
6th June 2000, 09:54
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Tetsutaka:

[B]How much space do you think a student, or rather a pair of students need to practice technique?

Whatever is required to practice in safety.

Most Japanese dojos I've seen on video or have heard accounts of seem pretty small. How do you compensate for a small floorspace?