PDA

View Full Version : Traits of a good teacher

John Lindsey
29th May 2000, 02:06
I would like to here from Students only on this question.

What do you find to be the qualities of a good martial arts teacher? What do teachers do to turn you off, or even worse, make you loose interest in your art or quit all together?

I am not talking so much about the Teacher's martial art skills, but rather how they teach it or run the dojo.

Also, as a student, do you aspire to teach martial arts, or dread the idea http://216.10.1.92/ubb/smile.gif? Do you welcome to opportunity to help your teacher teach, or would you prefer to stay back and just train?

------------------
John Lindsey

Jason Chambers
30th May 2000, 10:31
Now that I am a student again, I guess I can comment on this one, then again, we're all students to some degree aren't we?

Anyway, EGOTISM. That is the "kiss of death" for a martial arts teacher.

As far as becoming a teacher goes. I think all students aspire to do that at one point or another, I know I would like to have a dojo OF MY OWN one day, but for now I wish to just be among the ranks of "the Privates" and train for a while. http://216.10.1.92/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
Jason Chambers
"The Journey Begins."

Daniel Pokorny
30th May 2000, 20:23
I checked myself on the mat the other day, (much to the amusement of others), and discovered I am indeed a student.... so I'll take a stab at this.

Personally I feel extremely lucky to have, what I consider, really great instructors to learn from. What makes them great to me is their obvious respect for their students both in and out of the dojo. Respect in this case is acknowledging that the students, as uke, are giving their bodies to you to both learn and teach with. That same student's arm you are using to teach technique with, has to also be used by the student to earn a living and feed the family, or perhaps be placed around their child for comfort and support.