PDA

View Full Version : Style picking

Bokatu
18th December 2004, 23:01
Hi,

Currently I am thinking about going into the martial arts again. A long time ago I use to take TKD(only lasted a few years),Kempo and Jiu Jitsu(not long). I got hurt badle and cant remember how in a skiing accident but that ended my martial art career in my teens. Now I am 27 and thinking about getting back into it but its so expensive. I am a poor graduate student who can not afford much. Does anyone know a cheap but good school in nyc?.

MarkF
19th December 2004, 11:59
I am not a practitioner of karate, but I am experienced in expensive things in NYC on the Judo end of things. Even when attending a non-profit dojo there, it can get very expensive.

Have you checked out the YMCA, YWCA, or YMHA for classes? Also, rec. centers who have karate dojo tend to charge on the lower end so you should check that out, as well.

If you are not adverse to crossing the GW Bridge, it should be much cheaper.

Just a few suggestions. You should get some real advice from the karatedoka here, though. Stand by.

Mark

Lee Marsh
19th December 2004, 17:43
Contact some of the Hayashi-ha Shito-ryu folks up there. I don't know how cheap they are, but they could tell you some legit folks who might be teaching in gyms, health clubs, etc.

Steven Malanosk
20th December 2004, 10:08
Our good friend Tommy who frequents this site, teaches close to you for a good price = free I beleive.

Here is the link to his info page here on e-budo:

http://www.e-budo.com/vbulletin/member.php?s=&action=getinfo&userid=145

He teaches old school TKD = Korean KaraTe not the new stuff, and AiKiDo.

Check him out.

Bokatu
22nd December 2004, 21:30
I tried pm'ing your friend but he is probally busy until after the holidays.
Thanks for all your help =) and have a Merry Xmass and Happy Holidays

Kimpatsu
26th December 2004, 12:35
Originally posted by Bokatu