PDA

View Full Version : Shindo Muso Ryu Jodo Media

Zeeburaman
11th January 2005, 22:27
Hello All

I'm a relatively new student of SMR Jodo (only been training for about 6 months or so). While I'm training regularly and making good progress, I felt it might be rewarding to be able to study the kata in my own time at home as well, via books or videos.

Can anyone recommend any good DVDs, videos, books etc that feature the kihon waza and kata? I've found Matsui Kenji Sensei's DVD set online, and wondered what it was like...

Of course nothing can substitute for the experience of training--no one is going to learn any art solely from a book or video--but it can be useful to watch and replay techniques sometimes!

Best

Thom Marchbank

Earl Hartman
12th January 2005, 01:29
If you are doing ZNKR seitei jodo, as opposed to koryu SMR jo(jutsu), then perhaps some of the videos available might be useful (don't know, never seen them).

If you are doing koryu SMR, then I'm not sure if there is anything available. Each line of transmission in SMR seems to have its own way of doing things, so unless the video is made by people within your tradition, it would probably not be wise to try to copy the stuff in videos made by people from another line.

In any case, if anybody has any videos, it is Peter Boylan. I can't remember his URL right offhand. Sorry.

Of course, when in doubt, ask your teacher and do what he says.

Zeeburaman
12th January 2005, 02:06
Thanks for your post, Earl.

It's Koryu SMR Jo, not ZNKR Seitei Jo, that I've been doing. I'm with the Australian Jodokai, affiliated to Nishioka Tsuneo Sensei's Sei Ryu Kai and a part of the IJF.

The seitei kata form a part of our curriculum, so even if the videos were on these only they'd probably still be useful, even if there were minor variations in execution and technique.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thom Marchbank

Earl Hartman
12th January 2005, 03:00