PDA

View Full Version : Curriculum for Judo beginners

rodgerd
17th January 2005, 00:54
I'm curious about what a normal curriculum for Judo novices would look like; the reason I ask is I'm currently attending a dojo that has what seems to be a fairly high injury rate amongst it's low-ranked members, and I'm trying to get an idea of whether this is just a run of bad luck, or whether the dojo is perhaps a bit incautious with juniors, and I should look elsewhere.

Since I'm a novice myself, I've got no real way of telling what's normal beyond asking more experienced Judo players.

A typical session runs an hour and a half, and starts with all grades warming up together, with a mix of stretching,fitness, and falling exercises. This is generally set at a level well beyond novices, but people are encouraged to take breaks as necessary until their fitness reaches full level.

Classes will typically work on one or two tachi-waza exercises as a group. The exercise will be demonstrated, and then people will pair off to run through repititions. Once a number of exercises have been worked through, there will generally be tachi-waza randori, with the whole class rotating through until everyone has sparred with everyone else, usually for 3 -5 minutes each.

The same pattern is repeated with ne-waza.

Classes are generally run by the most experienced person present, usually a senior dan rank, but occasionally a first dan or brown belt.

(To clarify: in the past 2-3 months, with 10-15 people of mixed ranks, there have been some minor injuries - broken toes and the like - which don't concern me, but two broken arms and a serious rib injury, plus a tooth knocked out. The brokem arms were both white belts, one sparring with an orange, the other with a dan).

Budoka 34
17th January 2005, 03:17
The classes sound very similar to every Judo class I've every attended.