PDA

View Full Version : Different sai

mystic_kendoka
21st May 2005, 19:41
What are the differences in the different types of sai?

Chromed, black, round and octagonal?

I know what the literal differences are, but what advantages does one have over the other?

Does the chrome stay on nicely or does it get scratched easily?

Which do you prefer?

Thanx

E.elemental
21st May 2005, 21:10
What are the differences in the different types of sai?

Chromed, black, round and octagonal?

I know what the literal differences are, but what advantages does one have over the other?

Does the chrome stay on nicely or does it get scratched easily?

Which do you prefer?

Thanx

Firstly I must say that I am not an expert and much of the answers are dependent an personal taste and experience.

Chrome - I have never owned a pair but I have heard that the silvery part can crack. It all depends how you use them. For Kata they are more easily visable and are dont exposed to contact. So for Kata chrome should be fine.

Black - Because they are black they are more difficult to see, end personally I think that its better that your opponent dont can see that you actually have a pair of sai.

Round - Feels nicer when holding in special grip. That is when not holding the handle but the sai itself, sorry couldnt explain better.

Octagonal - They are more of an anemy to the bo then a round sai because they are make more damage to the staff.

I prefer the ones you forgot - the stainless heat treated so they are not as shiny as the just stainless. But they are not black either. If you are interested I could send a picture of them?

Different suppliers of Sai.

http://www.weaponsconnection.com - Expensive sai but well worth it, the absolutely best I have ever had. They are made to your personal specifications by Mr Peter Carbone. Without any question my personal favourite.

http://www.kamikazeweb.com/ - Sells sai from Shureido, many considers them to be among the best if not the best worldwide.