PDA

View Full Version : confused in class

Michael DiFronzo
19th November 2000, 21:08
I am a new student at New England Aikiki, in Cambridge, MA. I have been practicing for 3 months. It seems all the experienced people, when it is time to pair up, already have someone they want to team up with. I end up getting teamed up with another inexperienced person. We wind up both confused and feel we are not getting enough instruction to learn the tecknique we are working on. Is it common for dojos to become "clicky"? What should I do? From what I read so far on O Sensi, he said new students should be embraced, and no matter how experienced one is, you learn from working with new students.

Waveman
19th November 2000, 23:30
Hi Michael & welcome
I like yourself am new to Aikido & this forum.
The same sort of thing happened with me, so what i did was pick a senior student I wanted to train with & grabbed him by the sleave & put myself in his face.
Now it is taken for granted in our Dojo, that senior students & Uchi deshi train with newbies, so that they can help them, & so that they retain a beginers mind.

Gil Gillespie
20th November 2000, 00:35
In our dojo we look around and "break up" pairs of inexperienced white belts to minimize the above confusion. A sempai with a kohai is the paired practice we seek. Sometimes senior students like to pair up & "grind the stone," and they've earned that right, but sensei gets on us when we as sempai are not aware enough to prevent paired newbies.

George Ledyard
20th November 2000, 12:35
I have my senior students train with the new people in the dojo so that two new students do not get paired up. But also I tell them that they are responsible in the long run for their own training. I am not going to be assigning their partners for long so they need to know how to go after partners who can help them.