PDA

View Full Version : Matsubayashi-ryu

hakutsuru
21st November 2000, 05:28
Does anyone know of any Matsubayashi-ryu practitioners in North or South Carolina. I was a student of Matsubayashi-ryu back in New York but I moved to the Charlotte, NC area several years ago. I would love to connect with fellow Matsubayashi-ryu folks down here in Dixie.

Thanks

Tommy Lane

Joseph Svinth
21st November 2000, 07:35
Have you checked the links here?

http://www.matsubayashi-ryu.com

Doug Daulton
21st November 2000, 17:13
Tommy,

I am a Matsubayashi-ryu guy ... not in the NC area though. However, I will do some asking around and let you know. It seems to me that there are some folks down that way, but the names elude me at the moment.

More to come ...

hakutsuru
22nd November 2000, 02:32
Thanks Guys,

I already checked the WMKA site. I was hoping there might be some ronin hiding out down here.

Tommy

Ken Allgeier
27th November 2000, 00:30
Doug,

I allways wondered why in , Matsubayashi Ryu they do not train with the kata "Seisan",considering it is one of the oldest of the classical kata?

Thank You,

ken allgeier

Doug Daulton
27th November 2000, 05:58
Originally posted by Ken Allgeier
I allways wondered why in , Matsubayashi Ryu they do not train with the kata "Seisan",considering it is one of the oldest of the classical kata?

Ken,

That is a very good question. Correct me if I am wrong, but doesn't Seisan, like Sanchin, involve dynamic breathing and isometric tension? If so, that answers the question.

Nagamine Sensei thought it was important that people learn to work within the body's natural movements & rythyms ... dynamic breathing & isometric tension exaggerate natural movements and as a result emphasize unnatural movement. At least that is the theory.