PDA

View Full Version : What's in a name?

Skeptical
3rd July 2005, 06:21
First off, I'm new here, and when I saw that there was actually a forum where people talked about Ryukyu Kobudo I was pleasantly surprised.

I've been training Ryukyu Kobudo for a short time now and had a discussion with my instructor about the names of certain kobudo kata. Specifically, he was telling me that all the kata created in Shinken Taira's namesake used his mother's maiden name, Maezato, though some schools used Taira. Seeing how I'm new to kobudo, I was curious as to whether or not Maezato was the predominant name that is used or if Taira is the main naming?

In a related vein, he also told me that some of Taira's kata might mistakenly go by Miyazato, and was curious as to how this confusion may have come about.

TimJurgens
3rd July 2005, 10:48
We do use Maezato for the three kata that he is credited with composing.

Maezato no Tekko
Maezato no Nunchaku
Maezato no Surichen

To complicate matters in the local dialect the pronouciation of the Mae is different than it is in standard Japanese. In Unchina Guchi or Okinawan Hogen it is prounounced Mizato (http://www.ryukyu-kobudo.com/Kata/Kata_System/Ikkyu_Kata.htm) (like English Me as in the prounoun). Other kata names change based on the reading of the Kanji but the Kanji stays the same. For more info please visit our website. We are working through the variations and explaining where the differences exist in hopes it will clear up such questions.

www.ryukyu-kobudo.com

Regards,

Tim

Shorin Ryuu
3rd July 2005, 17:04
First off, I'm new here, and when I saw that there was actually a forum where people talked about Ryukyu Kobudo I was pleasantly surprised.