PDA

View Full Version : Should one start off with koryu or seitei first

ZhuGeLiang
15th August 2005, 02:48
Hi all,

my name is geliang and curretly resides in Australia.

As i'm new to SMR jo and having the chance to go to Japan for industrial training, therefore would like to ask your professional/personal opinion on the above ?

Should one start off with koryu (assuming that all proper introductions are in order) or Seitei (which requires no intro necessary) if one have the opportunity to choose in Tokyo ?

If either one, please state the reasons (whether personal opinion or professional). How would that be beneficial ?

Am not starting a debate here nor want 'proponents banging their heads'.
This questions could also touches on other aspects org. structure/hierarchy, expected culture/customary understanding etc. ?

Does the 'lived in disciple' exist in the SMR koryu arts today ?

if my question is silly, please let me know - am newbie here.

warmest regards,

geliang

Daniel Lee
15th August 2005, 03:14
Hello Geliang,

There are healthy numbers of Shinto Muso-ryu groups in Tokyo and many other cities in Japan, as well as in Australia at present. In fact, there are people with more than 20 years experience in Shinto Muso-ryu training in Australia!

If you are living in Australia long-term, why don't you visit the jodo group near you (you can see contact information at this Jojutsu site (http://www.jojutsu.com) and specifically here (http://www.jojutsu.com/index.php?option=displaypage&Itemid=54&op=page&SubMenu=)), observe some training, then join and learn the basics before going to Japan? Then you can build some foundations for your study, develop local contacts for training when you return to Australia, and also be introduced to a good dojo in Japan.