PDA

View Full Version : No bucks for budo....

John Lindsey
24th November 2000, 18:27
We have all heard it before…students who want to train, but cannot because they cannot afford the training.

“What, quit my day job at MacDonalds?”

When I hear such complaints from prospective students, I politely suggest that they take the time and energy to change their life so that they can pursue their dreams. Many times, I discovered that martial art training turns out to be low on their priorities…something they want to do without exerting too much effort.

If you want something bad enough, you will find ways to make it happen. Look at your monthly spending habits. Are there things you can do without to allow you the money for your training? For instance, the average price for a computer game would go a long ways towards training fees.

Comments?

Matsukaze
24th November 2000, 19:07
Mr. Lindsey,

I am a newbie posting here, although I have lurked here for quite awhile. Great site!

It does seem that those who worry about the cost of training simply aren't willing to make sacrifices in order to study a martial art. Dave Lowry wrote an excellent article about this that I am sure you have read which can be found at the Koryu Online library, http://koryu.com/library/dlowry7.html .

Some arts, like iaido, do require a certain level of financial commitment up front that can put some people off. Other arts, like karate and judo, have very little cost other than the monthly training fees. When you look at these costs versus cable television, the dojo is a downright bargain!

Pat Thomas

Michael Becker
24th November 2000, 21:01
John

An exellent post!

In my experience some students seem to think that you should be grateful to them for turning up and learning from you!