PDA

View Full Version : Unified grading system

JL.
12th September 2005, 18:41
Gassho!

Does anyone know whether the grading system (kyu-grades, mainly) will be unified, too? As far as I know there are several different systems around the world, i.e. multi-coloured belts vs. white-brown-black, 3 to 5 kyu-grades and so on and so forth. This can get pretty confusing when training internationally.

Kesshu,
______ Jan.

Casey Raiford
12th September 2005, 22:07
gassho;

Cheers all; I started studying SK a few months ago and have been lurking here for a bit. I'm glad someone asked this, it has had me pretty baffled for a while. I had no idea there were different grading systems. At my branch (western US) we go from white to brown (3rd kyu), thence 2nd and 1st kyu; ulitmately to 1st dan and onward.
I recently got a copy of the video that the UK and French organizations put out in 1996, though, and although the color is a little goofy at times it seems like I can see a veritable rainbow of belts. Blue and green I'm fairly sure, and ....yellow?
In any event, it all just got me wondering: how many systems are there and is one more prevalent?

Casey Raiford

JL.
12th September 2005, 22:19
Gassho Casey-san!

Welcome to eBudo and to Shorinji Kempo! :)
All I can say about this topic is that coloured belts are originally (=in Japan) only for children. Only for children, did the British Kenshi here that?! For children! (just kidding)
Your system is that original one and it's used over here, in Germany, too. Only three kyu-grades, all brown belt. We do have an additional pre-sankyu exam, though, which cannot be failed but has to be taken, i.e. to see how fit someone is for the real thing, I suppose.