PDA

View Full Version : What ryu-ha are represented on the forum?

morpheus
15th September 2005, 20:52
I train Hontai Yoshin ryu. What other systems are represented within the forum?

clive guth
24th September 2005, 01:19
Look on the 1st thread about jujitsu on the internet.
that would give you a good reference which is one of the ones listed that I have been training in for over 25 years and in which I am from the most direct lineage.

DANZAN - RYU

bu-kusa
24th September 2005, 18:50
Excellent idea for a thread, but may I hijack its slightly and ask for any KORYU JU JUTSU RYU-HA to list themselves, not just Gendai organisations – which are all fine and dandy and can be excellent systems (not sarcasm, they can be very good for real life!) but this is in the koryu forum, so it would be nice if some of the koryu people weren’t drowned out for once.

Ps if you are Gendai why not list the arts/styles that your art was formed from, if you don’t know where from – ask!

Pps. I mostly train in the Kokusai Ju-Jutsu Renmei – this is a Gendai organisation, which teaches a unified Kyu syllabus as an introduction to learning to Ryu-ha patterns – the patterns I have been introduced to (as opposed to learnt correctly – very hard work!) so far being taken from:

Hontai Takagii Yoshin Ryu
Asayama Ichiden Ryu

The entire organisation though is based on these following Ryu-ha:
· Hontai Takagi Yoshin ryu
· Kukishin ryu
· Asayama Ichiden ryu
· Tatara Shinden ryu
· Bokuden ryu
· Yagyu Shingan ryu
· Tenshin ryu
· Araki Shin ryu
· Itten Chukai Ryushin Ryu
· Tenshin Kyohyo Kukishin Ryu
Daito Ryu

clive guth
25th September 2005, 07:30
Fair enough that this is a Koryu Forum, I will list the arts/styles that Danzan-Ryu Jujitsu was formed from and present them per the history of this presumably Gendai Jujitsu.

Danzan-Ryu Jujitsu was founded by Prof. Henry Seishiro Okazaki in Hawaii around 1922.