PDA

View Full Version : Where to start?

mytaru
22nd September 2005, 05:49
I'm not only new to E-Budo, but I'm also new to martial arts in general. I'm definitely not in the best of shape either. I'm wondering where to start, be it a decent exersize program as well as being able to walk around a big city with any form of confidence. I live in maryland and will soon be working in DC if things go well, or poorly, depending on how you look at it. I've had a few friends that were mugged in the middle of the day while they were just going to lunch while working there. Not exactly something I'm looking forward to repeating myself.

I'm definitely open to pretty much any suggestion on looking less like a target and also having better health in general. Unfortunately I'm working full time and doing night school at maryland university, so something near there would be ideal to attend.

~E~

yoj
22nd September 2005, 10:15
Thats more like 3 distinct questions:

1: lose wight/increase fitness? Simple answer is eat less move more ;-) If its weight loss then I would try Bonk training or an equivalent excersise:

Bonk (http://www.wtcycling.com/BonkTraining.html)

If its to increase muscular strength then in the gym.

2. What art? Thats a really hard one, it depends on whats available, what your persona is like, what the instructor is like, in fact finding a decent instructor is more important than the art, and can completely change it. Read the forum, see what other people do, google around, and go and watch classes. You should find an air of respect and mutual trust, if it looks more like the instructor is quite far up his own bottom, he probably is.