PDA

View Full Version : Naginatajutsu & Sojutsu - FAQ

pdavidson6
2nd December 2004, 00:20
I'm a newbie to the martial arts scene and I have some general questions to ask:

1) I'm most interested in learning a style that focuses on the use of the longstaff or bo. I'm not sure the name- I've heard Bojutsu is the way to go. As I said I've never done this before so I really don't know what I'm talking about.

2) Is there a style of Koryubudo or Kobudo that focuses on the longstaff?

3) I live in Orlando Florida, is there anybody who teaches the longstaff?

4) How long does it take to become well-trained in such an art?

Any information would help. This is something I've been trying to get into for almost six months now. Please let me know all the pros/cons associated with- and also if it's a good way to build muscle mass and/or increse stamina.

Thanks-
Patrick

Gene Williams
2nd December 2004, 00:24
Richard Kelley over in East Orlando teaches many bo kata and applications. He is Shito-ryu. Most of the time, you will find weapons taught as a part of a karate regimen. Shito-ryu has lots of weapons. Kelly is a good instructor. If you'd like his number, pm me.
Gene

Shitoryu Dude
2nd December 2004, 00:45
Kenpo karate trains with the bo.

I know two Okinawan styles - Kenshin and Yamani. Kenshin can be learned fairly well in a matter of weeks/months if you are adept with weapons. Yamani, on the other hand, is something best learned when you have a few years to devote steadily to it.

Hayashi-Ha Shitoryu Kai makes Kenshin Ryu part of their regular training for 5th kyu and up.

:beer:

Kaoru
2nd December 2004, 05:00
Hi!

Not to barge in, but this Kenshin Ryu is not to be confused with the TV anime and manga "Rurouni Kenshin," which is made up and has nothing to do with the anime. hehehe, I just could not resist mentioning this... :D

Anyway... Harvey,