PDA

View Full Version : Need help...dojo in trouble

samuraibill
26th September 2005, 05:45
I am new to E-budo and thus far am very impressed by the wealth of knowledge I have found here, so I figured I would ask for help with my problem.

My instructor, who is a brilliant Judoka, just refuses to catch up with times. Our dojo is very close to closing its doors because of this. Myself and few and a few of our black belts are at our wits end because our sensei believes that we are the only ones responsible for recruiting and word of mouth is the only way he likes advertise, and it is the student job search out and instructor not for the instructor to find them. This is funny because he is a fulltime instructor. I have mentioned using a website, flyers, and demos as forms of advertisement, but he just says they don’t work.. When I first joined the dojo, people were waiting on the mat to have go, but there is about 15 of us. :confused:

Do you have any suggestions?

MikeWilliams
26th September 2005, 10:22
My first JJ club died for the same reason.

I don't have any suggestions, unless you (the senior students) want to start footing the advertising bill yourselves.

Blackwood
26th September 2005, 11:17
Well, if one of you has some web skills, a web site can be had for less than $100 a year. Flyers are good.

Stick a small 'bookmark' type add in the martial arts books in the library, or check with the local book store and see if you can do it with their books.

Pass out flyers around martial arts movies.

Flyers and book marks can be created using Word easily enough.

djyoung
26th September 2005, 12:55
Personally I think that bookmark adverts are very disrespectful unless they are in a book of the relevant art. An advert for a martial art which is not the topic of the book seems to me to be saying "our art is better, come to us" or "you dont want this rubbish, come see us instead".