PDA

View Full Version : Koryu Kenjutsu near me?

Ronin_21
20th October 2005, 21:40
Konnichiwa! I am a student of Mjer iaido on vancouver island bc I train under Greg williams (godan) and Denton hewgill (godan) and am fortunate enough to have Ted davis sensei (head of the canadian iaido association 7th dan)teaching here in victoria as well, for a long time I have watched these discussions on forums about the practicality or non practicality of the "Do" arts mainly Iaido.
Now I have been doing Mjer iaido for a year and a half, ive got a nice iaito practice as much as I can and I love it, and for the life of me I cant understand all these people who are talking about the impracticality of it, I mean what is it truly, is it the draws we do? the cuts we do? the types of waza? Or the curriculum? I mean most of it seems to me that if I had a razor sharp shinken, most of the tecniques would be quite practical, I mean maybe not junto sono ichi or ni but those basic tecniques are most likely their just so you can refine your basics, nukitsuke and kiriroshi and noto and the like. But I can see how most of the more advanced tecniques would work quite well in fact, even seiza no bu ippon me mae, two samurai facing eachother, duel to the death, neither is interested in blocking, just the quickest draw and strike and a finishing cut.

So now ive turned this into sort of a split discussion about iaido practicality and if anyone could point me to the nearest school of koryu kenjutsu on or nearest vancouver island. Even if I join kenjutsu , I will never quit iaido, I love it, and it has a beauty and a grace which I admire and enjoy

Charles Mahan
20th October 2005, 22:39
Have you discussed this with Williams-sensei?

Ronin_21
20th October 2005, 23:36