PDA

View Full Version : Shingitai jujitsu

Manual
8th December 2005, 23:02
Hi, I am currently a student of danzan ryu, but due to some issues at my dojo (like nobody, including professor, showing up to practice) I am in search of a new school. (Anyone know of a good jujitsu school near Mechanicsburg PA?)
I reciently found West Shore Jujitsu (http://www.westshorejujitsu.com) but have never heard of shingitai jujitsu. Any information/advice would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks

Robc
9th December 2005, 20:34
Shingitai was developed by a successful judoka and wrestler named John Saylor. If the dojo you're referencing is actively affiliated with Saylor, I suspect you will find an athletic form of self defense with very strong grappling at its base. That could be a very enjoyable training environment if that's what you're looking for.

If you haven't already, look here http://johnsaylor-sja.com/

Ron Tisdale
9th December 2005, 21:03
This may not be quite what you're looking for, but if I was in your area I'd train at the Itten dojo and Bob Wolfe. The aikido program there is run under the tutelage of Ellis Amdur (Araki ryu), and they also have programs for koryu taught by Meik and Diane Skoss. Their web page is here: http://www.ittendojo.org/ Having trained there several times, I have no doubt that is where I'd train if I lived in the area.

Best,
Ron

Manual
9th December 2005, 21:24
I actually have already attended a practice at itten dojo reciently. While the instructors seem top notch, I get the feeling that practice may be a little softer than I am accustomed to. Aikido is definately something I will study, but more than likely down the road.

Thank you both for your information and replies.

Ron Tisdale
9th December 2005, 21:31
:) Ask John Buntz if you want to go a little harder...or Buddy Yuhazz...

Either one will give you a good time. And probably a run for your money as well... :D

Best,
Ron

John A Butz
9th December 2005, 22:36