PDA

View Full Version : Teaching budo to children with emotional and behavioral issues

morpheus
14th December 2005, 15:52
Just wanted to see if anyone had experience with using budo (physical skills) and budo (ideas and concepts) to work children with emotional and behavioral issues. Myself and a few co-workers are pursuing the possibility of working with about five fifteen year olds. Focusing on breathing, meditation, body movement and body awareness. Any input is appreciated.
thanks
Jeff

drmarc
16th December 2005, 00:04
Jeff:

I am a licensed psychologist (with a post doc in child psych), and train in and teach Aikido. I use to do a program at a local psychiatric hospital with that population. I focused on Ki and body awareness and how it related to their sense of self, personal space, and interpersonal relatedness. No problems with the kids, just the staff. You should never turn your back or really trust an emotionally disturbed adolescent. Avoid anything that has to do with attacks, or will be too emotionally stimulating.

marc abrams

ichibyoshi
19th December 2005, 03:16
I've done some work with one-off groups of "at-risk" or "problem" teenagers, teaching kendo. I also teach kendo at the high school were I work, and some of those kids have various "problems": ADHD, disruptive home background, visual or aural processing problems, developmental delays, interrupted schooling, refugee BG, etc. Here are some things I have learned.

* Make sure you (and your colleagues) have a very long fuse. You will be tested in every way possible. But I think the only way is to persevere. Some of your kids may have had adults cop out on them before, so they might have in place rigourous testing mechanisms to see if you can last the distance. The answer to that is to stick with your program, no matter what they throw at you...

* ... and then know the difference between adjusting your expectations realistically, and still having worthwhile expectations for them to aspire to.