PDA

View Full Version : How to find a good school?

Norbert Funke
30th December 2005, 17:16
I am new to all of this but I like to figure out if it is something for me. How do I find a good school for beginners? I live in North Texas (McKinney to be exact).

Thanks

Bigjim1973
30th December 2005, 18:27
First figure out what type of art you want to study (check out a few). Then sit in a class or two, most Senseis will be more than happy. Then youre off on your journey!!

[James Christopher]

Norbert Funke
31st December 2005, 00:31
Good point, I believe I have an idea what I want in the long run; e.g. sword fighting techniques. I reallize that before starting that I probably need some practice without it, but I don't know what schools are actually in my near vicinity or Sensei available to get me started. Is there a central directory or something for the northen Dallas area (McKinney, Plano, Frisco, Melissa etc. etc.) It is hard to find one.

I don't want to go to a third class school that would teach me into the wrong direction or make me loose interest.

Thank for any posts.

Joseph Svinth
31st December 2005, 04:08
It's about finding a calculus teacher, but hey, the principle's the same.

http://www.math.ucdavis.edu/~hass/Calculus/HTAC/excerpts/node2.html

Meanwhile, for Japanese MA in the DFW area, check for folks who used to be directly associated with either Toby Threadgill or Vince Tamura. Even if you don't stick with the clubs or instructors, I'm pretty sure the people there will point you in directions you ought to be looking.

kj gotro
31st December 2005, 11:09
I'm not from that area;
It seems someone mentioned specific names.
Take their advice.
When i work out of town ,
i look in the Yellow Pages and make lots of
calls before observing classes.
If someone was recommended to me or I'm
looking for a certain instructor, my search is easier.
I worked in certain places just to train under someone.
There is a sword forum on the net.

Alex Dale