PDA

View Full Version : sword arts in NYC area?

Frank Gibbons
30th January 2006, 06:24
Hi All,

Can anyone recommend some dojos in the NYC area? I'm in Westchester County. Thanks a bunch!

Frank Gibbons

Eric Spinelli
30th January 2006, 07:02
I'm sure there are many others, but I can speak for the quality of instruction at the KenZen Dojo in Manhattan. Kendo (Ebihara sensei, 7th dan, kyoshi) and Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido (Parker sensei, 5th dan) are both taught there. It is a AUSKF dojo.

http://members.aol.com/kenzeninst/

Michael Mason
30th January 2006, 17:39
Mr. Gibbons,
There is a Shinkendo dojo in Queens (across the Whitestone bridge).

Our local website is www.shinkendonewyork.com. I have been training there for 2 years now and enjoy it very much. If you would like to watch a class, please call and make an appointment with D'Agostino-sensei.
For more information about Shinkendo, please visit www.shinkendo.com.

If you are specifically looking for Sport Kendo or Seitei Iaido, please refer to Mr. Spinelli's post. The folks at Ken Zen are very nice.

Feel free to pm me with any questions.

Gennan 53
30th January 2006, 18:32
Konnichiwa Gibbons-san,

I would like to recommend that you also take a look at the United States Tamiya Ryu Iaijutsu NYC Study Group, headed up by Deborah Klens-Bigman. The URL for the NYC Study Group is:

http://www.newyorkbudokai.net/tamiya/

Best of luck with your quest!!!

Frank Gibbons
30th January 2006, 20:40
Hi Everyone,

Thank you all for your replies, this is really helpful, there's lots of places, I can see. :)

I'm really intrested in two-man kata, which I've read about but haven't seen, so are these good dojos for that type of training? Any suggestions as to where I can learn more about two-man kata?

Thanks again!

Frank Gibbons

Ralutin
30th January 2006, 20:41
Hi Mr. Gibbons,