PDA

View Full Version : Okinawa tournament held in 1977 ??

Daniel Kogan
8th February 2006, 22:37
I’m trying to find any details about an Okinawa tournament held in 1977. I came across a reference to a tournament which in English was referred to as “Okinawa Karate World Tournament”. As a school we tend not to participate in tournaments so I have little knowledge of what tournaments were taking place on Okinawa at the time. I am aware of the 1995 and 1997 tournaments that used a similar name, and I imagine that there must have been tournaments on some of the US bases in 1977 (perhaps Kinser, Kadena or Foster) but I doubt they would have claimed to be “World Tournament”. I also assume there were some Uechi-ryu tournaments as well 1977 as they have been much more active in competitive karate than other schools on Okinawa, but from what I gathered from the reference to this “Okinawa Karate World Tournament” it included Shorin schools in Kumite and Kobudo divisions.

Any leads would be helpful,
Thanks

wsteigner
9th February 2006, 03:15
Hi Kogan Sensei; Akamine Eisuki Sensei Ryukyu Kobudo was awarded a Living Legend award at this tournament and a member of your Shinjinbukan
Devorah Dometrich may have still been on Okinawan at that time maybe she can shed some light on this tournament since she was a long time student of his. I Know that Uechi ryu open their annual tournament to all Ryu-Ha but that was in 78, and Kise held a big tournament in Koza but it also was 78.
Please post what you find.
thank you
bill steigner
Jinbukai

wsteigner
9th February 2006, 04:00
Hi Kogan Sensei; Akamine Eisuki Sensei Ryukyu Kobudo was awarded a Living Legend award at this tournament and a member of your Shinjinbukan