PDA

View Full Version : How many Aikidoka here have studied under Hikitsuchi Sensei?

TEA
16th February 2006, 02:57
I didn't want to hijack any of the other threads that mention Hikitsuchi Sensei, so I started a new one. I only got to study under Hikitsuchi for a year (08/89 thru 08/90) and wish I'd stayed longer. Any one else here study at the Kumano Juku Dojo? Anyone know who is heading up the school now that Sensei has passed on? I would assume Anno Sensei, but we all know where assumptions get us.

M. McPherson
16th February 2006, 15:33
Mr. Cheavens,

I'm a fellow Shingu alum, and in fact was there just after you (91-93). That was my intro to aikido, but I didn't stay with it for long after my return to the States (I studied Okinawan karate before, and went back to it after for a variety of reasons), so I'm a bit out of the loop, although I still keep in touch with some friends of that era. As far as I know, Anno Sensei did take over, but I'm not too clear on this. I've read one U.S. aikido practitioner's post on another site that there was some political infighting after H. sensei's death, and that conditions and skill there went down hill...but from what I've been told otherwise, this view is tinged with more than just a bit of hyperbole (second and thirdhand gossip tends to get you to the same place that assumptions do). I'm sure, as with any dojo (especially one as storied as that one) this did occur to a degree, but I'm a big fan of Anno Sensei's, so I've got faith that things are doing well.
(I'd love to hear from any current students over there, if any are reading).
Just out of curiosity, did you know a guy named Scott Gray when you were there? A friend and I lost touch with him several years ago, and haven't been able to find him (even in this age of Google. Go figure), so any leads we can get...