PDA

View Full Version : Rank Requirements?

jbjujitsu
22nd April 2006, 05:42
I am hoping I can glean some knowledge from those of you wiser than myself.

I have been struggling with a major issue for YEARS now. The biggest challenge I seem to have is maintaining a curriculum based training. In other words, I have been told I am an excellent teacher, have great skill, and can really do some great stuff in seminars and workshops. But, what I appear to be lacking is the ability to teach and maintain long-term rank requirements for my students.

There are a number of reasons. First, I have always had a smaller group of students and always taught by myself. This limits my ability to break classes up by rank or experience level. So, I am trying to cover all ranges, teaching white belts AND blue belts all at the same time, trying to insure that we cover everything everyone needs. But in trying to accommodate all, mostly I end up failing in a grand way.

Second, I have a pretty vast knowledge of multiple systems and techniques. Apparently, I know a ton of stuff. But assimilating it and teaching it in a progressive manner is a completely different ball game. My original amalgamation of a system had hundreds of techniques but so many that I found it impossible to teach and maintain. So, what I did was, not try to. I scaled back, I adapted a variation of the curriculum and decided to stay within its expectations and principles. Does it limit me to my variations and techniques? YES. But I figured having a confined path is better than having no path at all. Besides, sometimes too much is just that... TOO MUCH.

But, even in adapting a set curriculum it still doesn't alleviate problem number one. Teaching multiple levels simultaneously.