PDA

View Full Version : Michel E. Kramer (Karate)

Nadelman
3rd May 2006, 17:43
In memory of the late Michel E. Kramer Sensei
By Neil Adelman

Michael E. Kramer Sensei passed away on Thursday April 27th, 2006 at the age of 80. His martial arts career spanned over 60 years. He grew up in New York City and served in the United States Navy during World War II. He was a Pipe-Fitter by profession until his retirement.

Kramer Sensei was my original instructor as a kid in the 1970’s through Shodan in 1984, and remained so until he retired to Florida in the mid 1980’s. I’ll never forget the day I started learning with him. I was just a kid, playing with his son, Ken, when he abruptly entered the room, gave me a very stern look, his face seemed to be carved from granite, and said in a very commanding voice “Be here at 5:00 p.m. tomorrow, and wear loose clothing!”. Well, needless to say, I was too afraid of what would happen to me if I didn’t show, so the next day I arrived promptly at 5:00 p.m. and he drove me to the dojo, and started to train me. He must have felt sorry for me and thought that I needed it real bad.