PDA

View Full Version : New to Iaido

Judo Wayne
5th May 2006, 21:29
HI I am new to Iaido, I was wondering if any body has any Japanese/English Iaido translations?

Thanks
W Tippett

socho
6th May 2006, 01:27
of what?

Dave

Judo Wayne
7th May 2006, 15:38
I was wondering if anybody has any English/Japanese Iaido translations as i have Just started and would like to learn the terminology. Many thanks

Ojiisan
7th May 2006, 16:27
You could try this for starters...

http://www.nic.funet.fi/~magi/harrasteet/iaido/sanasto.html

Charles Mahan
7th May 2006, 22:55
I was wondering if anybody has any English/Japanese Iaido translations as i have Just started and would like to learn the terminology. Many thanks

I'm sorry Wayne. You're still not being very clear. Iaido is something you do. How are we supposed to translate it? Are you looking for translations of style names? Waza names? If so what style are the waza from? Is it Kamae you are after? Sayings? You're gonna have to be a little less vague.

JAnstey
8th May 2006, 04:48
Hi Wayne

edit ; I just posted the same glossary as the first person. woops

Judo Wayne
8th May 2006, 22:25
appologies for not being clear what i was after is the japanese/english for the different positions, stances, katas etc, i.e what is the japanese for a defensive possition hope that has cleared it up for people

Charles Mahan
8th May 2006, 22:34
Well that helps a little, but if you want translations of kata names, you're gonna have to tell us what you are studying. In London, I'd hazard a guess of either the Seitei Kata through the British Kendo Association. It could be Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu associated with either the BKA, or the Eikoku Roushukai. It could easily be something else entirely.

You might ask your sensei if he has a preferred reference for this sort of thing.

8th May 2006, 23:58
Mr Tippet

I've sent you a pm.

Ken-Hawaii
11th May 2006, 02:38
Aloha, Wayne: