PDA

View Full Version : Ju-Jutsu and Homestudy

budoka9823
7th May 2006, 15:18
Hi all,

I have a question....
Now i know most of you dont like the idea of homestudy programs, and i also think that a total beginner would have a hard time learning only from a homestudy program.

But what if a person with expirence, i my case 11 years MA expirence within both Ju-Jutsu (my JJ instruktor was number 4 at WM) and Karate and so, but who not really have got the degrees (Black Belt), since it at the time did not matter so much......
What if he took a homestudy within Ju-Jutsu, and got hes expirence to help in hes studys, would he then make a acceptable Black Belt?

Sincerly,

Jan

MikeWilliams
7th May 2006, 18:11
I can kind of see how learning solo kata in karate might be possible on your own, but how on earth are you going to train jujutsu without at least a training partner? Sure, you could pick up tips and ideas from videos or books - but you're still going to need other people in order to practise.

Why can't you find somewhere to train? If you don't have your style of jujutsu nearby, why not train judo? Or MMA? Both would be a good complement to your existing skills, and would develop your grappling immensely.

Finally, why do you want a black belt anyway? If it didn't matter then, why does it matter now?

budoka9823
7th May 2006, 18:36
You kind of did not answer my question, can a man with my expirence (11 years) and a few training partners (2-3 persons)....Earn a black belt from a home study and be a good black belt?

Chuck.Gordon
7th May 2006, 19:27
You kind of did not answer my question, can a man with my expirence (11 years) and a few training partners (2-3 persons)....Earn a black belt from a home study and be a good black belt?

Probably, but what would it really be worth?

The whole idea behind 'black belts' is to seperate serious students from dabblers.

Which are you? What are you willing to do to prove you're a serious student?

Homestudy? Eh.