PDA

View Full Version : Modesto Daitokai / Tony Myers

jdostie
20th July 2006, 00:19
I am looking at studying Daito Ryu Jujutsu in Modesto under Shihan Myers. He posts the lineage as:

Dai Sensei Sokaku Takeda (1860-1943)

Dai Sensei Takuo Tanaka (1885-1969)

Dai Sensei Karoku Yamamoto (1934-Present)

Sensei Yamamoto was his teacher.

Being a total newbie to martial arts, I am curious if there is something I should be doing to verify his qualifications; he certainly seems to know what he's doing . . .

Do you have any advice?

Nathan Scott
21st July 2006, 01:39
Hello J. Dostie,

It's helpful if you can post the webpage here for the rest of us to look at. I've never heard of "Shihan Myers" or his teachers. The webpage can be found here:

http://www.modestodaitokai.com/welcome.html

Although they list Kondo Sensei's Shimbukan dojo as the "honbu dojo", they don't seem to be affiliated with his group. There is no "Tanaka Takuo" listed in the compiled version of Takeda Sokaku's eimeiroku (enrollment book), which means there is a very good chance either the name is fabricated or this "Tanaka" wasn't a student of Takeda Sokaku as claimed. I also can't find anything on the net about "Dai-Sensei" Tanaka or Yamamoto.

I would ask Mr. Myers where he studied with Yamamoto, and what affiliation their group is with. Mr. Myers should have rank certificates, pictures with his teacher, letters, or some kind of evidence that will offer more information about his training background. I mention all this because there is a massive amount of people ripping off the Daito-ryu name to make money, and very few of them actually were taught by legitimate teachers. It is worth your time to find out more about the background of someone you plan to study with, especially if they are claiming to teach aikijujutsu or Daito-ryu.

Let us know what you find out...

jdostie
2nd October 2006, 03:56