PDA

View Full Version : Child with Aspergers wants to learn Judo

BeginnerDavid
1st August 2006, 11:01
I have a friend whose 9-year-old child wants to learn a martial art. I think he has picked out Judo because he's heard of it. The child has Aspergers' Syndrome, which means he has difficulty with some social situations, and finds disorder and loud noises confusing. I think it also affects his co-ordination slightly, though this is exactly why he, and his mother want him to join in some kind of physical activity like Judo.

I suggested maybe something like Kyudo might be easier for him, as this would play to his strengths. Any other suggestions? Anybody know of any dojos/instructors who have any experience of teaching children with learning/ behavioural difficulties?

yoj
1st August 2006, 11:20
I'm no expert but I've read around the subject a bit.

Judo will probably be a little too random for him, and kyudo, well how many kyudo places are there in London??? (I know of 1.)

Children with these sorts of problems I think are better off in a much more ordered environment, and some get quite a kick out of the neatness of lines in karate etc. So i'd be aiming at a form based system, which will grab his attention and give him a focus, rolling around with big boys will probably freak him out, and he won't be in a good place to tell you.

Just my pennies there, and worth less than that too ;-)

Woody
1st August 2006, 11:55
I'm thinking it's all about the sensei here. I believe there are several martial arts that would benefit the child, but it will require a good, patient sensei and sempai's, willing to put in the "extra time" with the boy. I run an "aikido club" for foster children at my dojo. A bit different I know but I believe the same principals apply. I have a deep belief in the physical, emotional and spiritual benefits of aikido training. Take the child to a few dojos. Snoop around a bit and ask many questions. You may find just what you're looking for.