PDA

View Full Version : Tensho Kata

Ron Goninan
23rd December 2000, 04:06
I am very interested in hearing your thoughts regarding the kata Tensho. Does anyone have any real, substantial information on it's history?

I believe Tensho to be a very important if not all too often overlooked form. It seems to demonstrate many similarities to kata of the Kojo-Ryu tradition and even elements of the Feeding Crane and Whooping Crane styles.

What of it's connection to the Bubishi and Rokkishu? Does anyone have any information on the Rokkishu form? Perhaps Tensho is simply Miyagi Sensei's re-naming of Rokkishu?

Hope to hear from you all soon.

Regards,

Ron Goninan ~ Shinshii
Innovative & Progressive Traditionalist
Kokusai Okinawa Butoryu Gohokan
Australia

Paul Wollos
24th December 2000, 04:59
Hello Ron,

I'm instructor of Feeding Crane (Shihequan), which I studied sirectly from Head of the style in Taiwan, Mr. Lio, Chin-Long, as his "internal student".

I'm familiar with Tensho due to my previous involvement in Karate.

In Shihequan we have not really that Kata, but rather a set of hand movements, that closely resemble these used in Tensho. They are principles rather than actual techniques.

sincerely yours

Paul Wollos

AST
24th December 2000, 10:35
Would you care to expand upon those principles if possible.
I've always regarded Tensho as a form of Chi Kung (Qi Gong) and did not realise that it had similarities in the Crane styles.

I would appreciate your input.

Thanks

Ken Allgeier
24th December 2000, 17:23
Ron,